YRCA 2022 Nominees


  1. New Kid by Jerry Craft
  2. Shouting at the Rain by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
  3. Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly
  4. Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee
  5. Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga
  6. A Wolf Called Wander by Roseanne Parry
  7. A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying by Kelley Armstrong
  8. Indian No More by Charlene Willing McManis


  1. The Bridge Home by Padma Venkatraman
  2. Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson
  3. Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia
  4. Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
  5. We Contain Multitudes by Sarah Henstra
  6. White Rose by Kip Wilson
  7. I Can Make This Promise by Christine Day
  8. I Love you so Mochi by Sarah Kuhn


  1. The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys
  2. With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo
  3. Frankly in Love by David Yoon
  4. Laura Dean Keeps Breaking up with Me by Mariko Tamaki
  5. We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia
  6. Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay
  7. Pet by Akwaeke Emezi
  8. Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett


YRCA logo

How has the award changed?

A single award was given until 1991 when it was replaced by Youth and Senior divisions.

In 2002 three divisions were designated: Junior, Intermediate, and Senior divisions. The Young Reader’s Choice Award Selection Policy was revised by the Board of the Pacific Northwest Library Association in 2012.

The award program continues to change and grow to attract new supporters and participants. PNLA supports YRCA becoming a 21st-century reading program that will sustain current participation and expand to a new readership and participating libraries.

How do nominations work?

Nominations will be collected from students, librarians, teachers, and parents in the Pacific Northwest – Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. Nominations will not be accepted from publishers.

Most importantly nominated titles must already be popular
with young readers.

Nominated titles must be published three (3) years before the award year (for example, for the 2022 nominees must have a copyright date of 2019), printed in the United States or Canada. Nominations may include fiction, nonfiction, and graphic format titles. Submissions of books that are a sequel or part of a series may be considered.

Nominated titles will be judged on popularity with readers. Other considerations will include reading enjoyment; reading level; interest level; genre representation; gender representation; racial diversity; diversity of social, political, economic, or religious viewpoints; regional consideration; effectiveness of expression; and imagination. Age appropriateness will also be considered for placement in a division.

The Pacific Northwest Library Association is committed to intellectual freedom and diversity of ideas. No title will be excluded because of race, nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, political or social view of either the author or the

*Updated* YRCA 2022 Nomination Timeline

  • October 15, 2020 – Nominations for YRCA 2022 are open.
  • November 15, 2020– Nominations for YRCA 2022 close.
  • November/December – All nominations will be reviewed and voted on by YRCA representatives and assigned to a division (Junior/Intermediate/Senior).
  •  January/February 2021 – YRCA 2022 Nominees

How do I nominate titles?

  1. If you would like to nominate a single title, please use this
    form: https://forms.gle/oWfxN6NwupgYiyex8
  2. If you would like to submit a spreadsheet or list of titles,
    please include as much of the following information as
    possible and email your list to yrcachair@gmail.com

When nominating a title, please include the following:

  •  Title
  •  Author
  • Copyright Date
  • Division, where you feel the title, is most appropriate and any other information you would like to add, like the popularity of the title.
    • Junior Division: Grades 4-6
    • Intermediate Division: Grades 7-9
    • Senior Division: Grades 10-12

Young Reader’s Choice Award

YRCA logo

Young Reader’s Choice Award History

Since 1940 young readers in the Pacific Northwest have been participating in the Young Reader’s Choice Award (YRCA). The award was established in 1940 by Harry Hartman, a Seattle bookseller, who believed every student should have an opportunity to select a book that gives him or her pleasure. The Young Reader’s Choice Award is sponsored by the Pacific Northwest Library Association and continues to be the longest-running children’s choice book award. It is also the only international award with young readers in both the United States and Canada participating in the program.

YRCA State and Provincial Representatives: