YRCA logo

YRCA Winners 1940-1999

1940: Paul Bunyan Swings His Axe by Dell J. McCormick
1941: Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater 1942: By the Shores of Silver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder 1943: Lassie Come-Home by Eric Knight
1944: The Black Stallion by Walter Farley
1945: Snow Treasure by Marie McSwigan
1946: The Return of Silver Chief by Jack O’Brien
1947: Homer Price by Robert McCloskey
1948: The Black Stallion Returns by Walter Farley
1949: Cowboy Books by Shannon Garst
1950: McElligot’s Pool by Dr. Seuss
1951: King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry
1952: Sea Star by Marguerite Henry
1953-1955: No Awards
1956: Miss Pickerell Goes to Mars by Ellen MacGregor
1957: Henry and RIbsy by Beverly Cleary
1958: Golden Mare by William Corbin
1959: Old Yeller by Fred Gipson
1960: Henry and the Paper Route by Beverly Cleary
1961: Danny Dunn and the Homework Machine by Jay Williams 1962: The Swamp Fox of the Revolution by Stewart Holbrook 1963: Danny Dunn on the Ocean Floor by Jay Williams
1964: The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford
1965: John F. Kennedy and PT-109 by Richard Tregaskis 1966: Rascal by Sterling North
1967: Chitty-Chitty-Bang-Bang by Ian Fleming
1968: The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
1969: Henry Reed’s Baby-Sitting Service by Keith Robertson 1970: Smoke by William Corbin
1971: Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
1972: Encyclopedia Brown Keeps the Peace by Donald J. Sobol 1973: No Award
1974: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien 1975: Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume
1976: The Great Brain Reforms by John D. Fitzgerald
1977: Blubber by Judy Blume
August 2015
1978: The Great Brain Does it Again by John D. Fitzgerald
1979: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred Taylor
1980: Ramona and her Father by Beverly Cleary
1981: Hail, Hail Camp Timberwood by Ellen Conford
1982: Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery by Deborah and James Howe 1983: Superfudge by Judy Blume
1984: Indian in the Cupboard by Lynn Reid Banks
1985: Thirteen Ways to Sink a Sub by Jamie Gilson
1986: The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright
1987: The War with Grandpa by Robert Smith
1988: Sixth Grade Can Really Kill You by Barthe DeClements
1989: Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story by Mary Downing Hahn
1990: There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom by Louis Sachar